In Step

I have a confession to make. I like to dance, I cannot lie. I like country-western dance in particular, the two-step, polka, waltz, you name it… I have since I was in college, and actually met my late husband on the dance floor. Our first date was at the famous, or should I say infamous, Gilley’s in Pasadena, and we danced together for over 34 years. When we danced together in the later years, it was obvious we still “had it”. We stepped onto the dance floor and it was as if we had never left, even though it may have been years since the last time. We were in perfect harmony with one another. My steps followed Mark’s to a T.

I tell you this to illustrate a picture for you and me and our relationship with our Lord. Afterall, doesn’t the Lord want us to be in step with him? He wants us to hold onto to him and follow like there is no tomorrow. He wants us to follow where he leads, even when we aren’t sure where that is yet. He wants us to trust the path that he has laid out for us.

Now as Jesus was walking by the Sea of Galilee, He saw two brothers, Simon who was called Peter, and Andrew his brother, casting a net into the sea; for they were fishermen. And He said to them, “Follow Me, and I will make you fishers of men.” Immediately they left their nets and followed Him.

Matthew 4:18-20

Then Jesus again spoke to them, saying, “I am the Light of the world; he who follows Me will not walk in the darkness, but will have the Light of life.”

John 8:12

When dancing with another partner, as is my fate, I am finding it is more difficult to follow because I don’t quite know what to expect. It even feels uncomfortable at times, just as it sometimes also is uncomfortable in my own shoes (or boots), trying to figure out where the Lord is leading me. As the Lord laid this on my heart, he impressed upon me how we need to spend the time necessary with him on a daily basis by reading His Word, praying, and listening to him.  So when it is time to be whirled in a different direction or to be guided in his will, we will be so in sync with the Lord that it will be easy to follow him.

When I stepped onto the dance floor recently, I found it like riding a bike, although I have to admit there were new dance steps that I didn’t know. So I took lessons to learn them so that I could be more comfortable with those steps in the future. During the lesson, practice, practice, practice was the key. Such is the case in our spiritual walk. We have to live it out daily for those new habits to become ingrained, so that following Christ becomes second nature, and Christ becomes second to none.

Hold on and follow the Lord in the dance of life.

Leave a Reply

